IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award

Supported by The Borrow Foundation

Online Submission Site Now Open!
Extended Deadline: October 17, 2016

Click Here to Apply!

Please note: Add ‘noreply@fluidreview.com’ to your safe sender email list so you don’t miss any notifications. You must first ‘Sign Up’ to register an account to begin your application. If you submitted an application last year, you already have an account. If you forgot your password, click “Trouble Signing In?” on the log in page.

Nominations are invited for the 2017 IADR E.W. Borrow Memorial Award, which was established to recognize and stimulate research in oral health promotion for children, with a priority for caries prevention where fluoride in different formats is utilized.

Selection will be based on the originality of contributions and record of achievement in the field of oral health promotion and on the significance of research carried out on the oral health of children. Basic research, applied clinical research, and clinical investigation will be considered for the award as well. At the time of nomination, the nominee should be actively engaged in the area of research for which the award is presented.  Candidates MUST be IADR members.

Nominating Procedures:
Any IADR Division, Section, Group, or individual IADR member may nominate a candidate for this award. Once a nomination is made, it will be considered each year for five years.

The following documentation must accompany the nomination:

  • Name, address, and date of birth of the candidate;
  • Full curriculum vitae with lists of publications; and
  • A short statement describing the reasons the individual is being nominated for the award.

The award commenced in 1992 and is awarded annually. Nominations are reviewed by a BMF/IADR Committee. The individual selected will receive a monetary award of $3,500 and a plaque, which will be presented at the Opening Ceremonies of the IADR General Session & Exhibition in San Francisco, Calif., USA, March 22-25, 2017.

The award is made in memory of the late E.W. Borrow and is generously supported by The Borrow Foundation.

Nomination Deadlines:

Please submit nominations online at the link above by October 17, 2016.

Further information can be obtained from Sheri S. Herren, Strategic Programs - sherren@iadr.org.

2016 Recipient
Margherita Fontana
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA

2015 Recipient
Eino Honkala

Kuwait University, Kuwait City

2014 Recipient
Anne Maguire

Newcastle University, Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK

2013 Recipient
Anthony Blinkhorn

The University of Sydney, Westmead, Australia

2012 Recipient
A. John Spencer

The University of Adelaide, Australia

2011 Recipient
Svante Twetman

University of Copenhagen, Denmark

2010 Recipient
James S. Wefel

University of Iowa, USA

2009 Recipient
Lars Petersson
Maxillofacial Unit, Halmstad Hospital, Sweden

2008 Recipient
Michael Lennon
England, UK

2007 Recipient
Alberto Villa
Institute of Nutrition & Technology, Chile

2006 Recipient
Poul Erik Petersen
World Health Organization, Denmark


Related Content

2015 Annual Report

Learn More »